The Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN) is committed to addressing the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing research collaborations to speed the translation of scientific discoveries to health improvements for this region.

The ATRN seeks to foster Community Engagement and Outreach to those in the Appalachian region. In addition, the ATRN will serve as a conduit for enhancing T1 research collaborations in areas relevant to the chronic health conditions prevalent in Appalachia.

ATRN Leadership Committee

Chair

Gia Mudd-Martin, PhD, MPH, RN, FAHA
Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Director of Community Engagement and Research
University of Kentucky Center for Clinical and Translational Science
gia.mudd@uky.edu
859.257.4204

 

 

Chair-Elect

Eugene Lengerich, VMD, MS
Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences
Associate Director, Health Disparities and Engagement, Penn State Cancer Institute
Penn State University
elengeri@phs.psu.edu
717.531.7178

Secretary

Melissa Thomas, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Ohio University
thomasm5@ohio.edu
740.593.2217

 

 

Treasurer

Todd Gress, MD, MPH
Professor, College of Medicine
Assistant Dean & Director for Clinical Research
Marshall University Appalachian Clinical and Translational Science Institute
gress@marshall.edu
304.691.1093

Members

Meghan Reeves, MPH
Investigator Development Manager
West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute
mreeves1@hsc.wvu.edu
304.293.9786

 

 

 

Kelly Nottingham, MPH
Executive Director, Primary Care Research Initiatives
Ohio University
nottingk@ohio.edu
740.593.2214

Scott D. Rhodes, PhD, MPH, FAAHB
Professor and Department Chair
Department of Social Science and Health Policy, Division of Public Health Sciences
Director
Program in Community Engagement, Wake Forest Clinical and Translational Institute
srhodes@wakehealth.edu
336.713.5080

 

 

Kelly Brunst, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Health
College of Medicine
University of Cincinnati
kelly.brunst@uc.edu
513.558.1723

Pamela Salsberry, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean, Community Outreach and Engagement
Professor, Health Behavior and Health Promotion, College of Public Health
Director, CCTS Community Engagement
The Ohio State University
salsberry.1@osu.edu

 

ATRN Institutional Partners